I like to Move it, Move it

English/Svenska

tangent detail

Why, hello September! Looks like autumn is approaching. The usual signs are there: the nights are dark, stars are visible once more, and we get gloriously poetic, misty mornings. And like the birds I’ve migrated south for the winter. So far south, in fact, that I can’t go much further without tumbling into the Øresund and possibly drift over to Denmark. I’m not sure the Danes would look favourably upon a Swede entering  via the sea – no matter how tiny she may be. I was on the move this time last year as well, but this time my travels have a clearer aim. I’ve decided to re-enter Uni to study translation: words and grammar and punctuation and syntax and books all the way! Woop!

I’ll admit the first week was a bit daunting. I’ve pretty much had to relearn how to read. I feel better now though, but we are a few glasses of wine into the weekend, so the true test will come on Monday. My creative writing projects are huddled on a shelf, full of resentment I’m sure, but as soon as some routines kick in I’ll have a go at planning the editing stage for novel #1. I’ve decided it has earned the right to make it to a second draft. (This is where the time-optimist in me mentions the handful of shorts stories also waiting for some love… All in good time.)

Hope you all have some exciting plans ahead, whether it is travel, work or writing-based 🙂 My sweaters are prepared and I look forward to a challenging autumn wading knee-deep in text, I’ll catch you at the margins!

*p.s. picture below of Lund University Library. All books deserve a beautiful cover.

lund library

Hej och välkommen September! Det finns tydliga tecken på att hösten är i antågande – mörka nätter, kalla vindar, och härligt mystiska, dimmiga morgnar. Liksom fåglarna har jag rört mig söderut för vintern. Så långt söderut att jag inte kommer mycket längre utan att trilla ner i Öresund, och det känns ju lite onödigt då de har bemödat sig med att bygga en bro och allt. Nu har terminen kickat igång och jag har börjat en kurs i översättning, så nu blir det text och ord och böcker för hela slanten!

Det var en liten chock i början men sakta, sakta börjar bitarna falla på plats. Ska bli oerhört nördigt och roligt att få grotta ner sig i svenskans nominalfraser och satsschema 🙂 Medan jag klappar händer och kramar om mina nya kursböcker sitter alla mina skrivar-projekt på en hylla och glor. Det har de för all del rätt till, jag tycker också det är tråkigt att min inre tidsoptimist inte har magiska krafter och möjlighet att stanna tiden då och då så att man faktiskt hinner något. Så snart jag har lite rutiner hoppas jag sätta igång med lite planering inför första redigeringen av roman #1. Den förtjänar att åtminstone få ta sig till utkast 2, har vi levt tillsammans i 4 år kan vi nog klara några månader till.

Hoppas ni alla har en spännande höst framför er 🙂 Jag ska spendera min med att glatt vada runt i text och hoppas att det inte stiger högre än till knäna – vi kanske ses i marginalerna!

 

3 thoughts on “I like to Move it, Move it

Leave a Reply

