Follow the Rabbit

English/Svenska
tangent detail

This post originally began with the sentence “there are a million ways to write a book”. I started to think about it and remembered thatthere is only one good way to write a book and that is to write. What I should have said was: there are a million ways of doing all the other things that comes with writing a book, such as research, world building, creating characters, editing, and procrastinating. For example, you could do very little of anything apart from writing. You could survive with minimal amount of research and still end up with a phenomenal piece of work. Or you need to do a lot. You just need to the process that works for you.
An obvious statement to a lot of people, but finding that process has – at least to me – not been obvious.

When I began writing this novel I did the bare minimum of planning, although I did write some scene cards. Visual and neat. Of course, when I started it I did not know I would be spending near four years on it, and end up with more than 150 000 words and a million little scraps of paper tucked in between the pages of about as many notebooks.

Now I am staring at this massive stack of papers and trying to find where to start. (Figuratively speaking, it’s all in my laptop.) The novel currently has the codename “Rabbit” as I feel about as confused and lost as Alice when she tumbled down the rabbit hole.

Thank you Lewis Carroll, for gifting the world with such a remarkable and versatile tale

I went back to square one and decided to create a proper world for my story to live in – it is a steampunk-esque endeavour, so things have to make sense and add upp. Step one was to create a long list of everything I wanted to find out. Step two was to head to the real world version of Google: the library. This was more a way of searching for inspiration than a way of finding facts, and my goal was to find something about the history of Egypt, which….technically…I did. I also found 12 other books. The topics ranged from Africa, South America, London to fairytales and, oddly, a book about French verbs. My real world Google turned out to be the real world version of Youtube. You stop by for a quick video and resurface six hours later. It was a tumble down the rabbit hole and not much of what I found has, or will have, anything to do with the story.

What did I learn? Lists are good. Sticking to them is even better and less is more.

I now have a better list, which I have even begun to work on. There might be a world for my story to live in after all. But now I have been rambling on here for too long and I’m about to loose sight of the rabbit, so better stop while I’m ahead and get back to work.

alice_par_john_tenniel_02

Tanken med detta blogginlägg var att diskutera och ventilera alla de miljoner sätt man kan skriva en bok på. Sedan insåg jag att det enda bra sättet att skriva en bok på är genom att skriva. Vad jag egentligen ville ta upp är alla de andra (också miljontals) saker som kommer upp kring skrivandet av en bok: research, skapande av värld och karaktär, för att inte tala om alla sätt man kan undvika att jobba på. Man behöver naturligtvis inte spendera ett år på research eller ett halvår för att bygga en hel värld a la Tolkien, man kan göra minimalt med kring-jobb och ändå få till en fantastisk berättelse. Men ibland måste man göra mer.

Romanprojektet har nu fått ett kodnamn, “Rabbit” som en referens till Alice i underlandet. Fantastisk bok, och fantastiskt användbara referenser.

När jag började med Rabbit så gjorde jag minimalt av allt. Jag visste ju inte då att jag skulle arbeta med den i närmare fyra år och få ihop mer än 150 000 ord. Så här i början av redigeringen har jag mest stirrat på alltihop och försökt komma underfund med vart jag ska börja.

Eftersom storyn behöver en bra värld för att fungera bestämde jag mig att börja där. Bokstavligen från början. Steg ett var att skriva en lång lista, och steg två blev ett besök till biblioteket för att få lite inspiration från historiehyllan. Jag kom ut med 12 böcker som handlade om allt från Afrikas historia, till Londons, och en om franska verb. Tack och lov kunde jag inte bära mer, annars hade nog några kokböcker hängt med hem också. Det var den verkliga världens version av Youtube-effekten (kan även bytas ut till Netflix, wikiepedia, el. dyl), när man klickar sig in för en kort video och inte kommer ut förrän sex timmar senare.

Vad lärde jag mig av detta? Listor är bra, men att följa listorna är ännu bättre. Och i vissa fall är less faktiskt more. Men även att komma underfund med vad man inte ska göra är lärorikt. Nu har jag än bättre och kortare lista, som jag till och med har börjat arbeta med. Rabbit får kanske en värld att bo i trots allt. Bäst att fortsätta jobba innan jag tappar bort honom.

Leave a Reply

